Linux client image advice

Have a question for the lug and you are not a member of the mailing list? Or you just want to start a discussion here, go right ahead.

Moderators: snarkout, Patrick, dann

Lauren

Linux client image advice

Post by Lauren » Wed May 26, 2004 2:35 pm

Hi, i am an intern this summer at a local company and i am working with linux. I have to work with old pc's, that are still usuable just old, so we are putting linux on them, most likely redhat enterprise ES. My job is to find the best:

email client (one like outlook, only for linux)
be configured to accept network IPs, gateways, etc
access to local shared drives
have a browser to be able to run browser based applications (i.e. 11i)
have backup process for data files and
automated process to install image onto an old PC

what do you suggest for each of the categories?

I am thinking for the email client either evolution or mozilla's thunderbird, and for the browsing either mozilla's firebird or firefox, and as for backup i have looked into tar, but thats about

HELP! As i stated before, i have not really worked with linux much so any advice would be great! Thank you!

pthread

Re: Linux client image advice

Post by pthread » Wed May 26, 2004 2:48 pm

Lauren wrote:Hi, i am an intern this summer at a local company and i am working with linux. I have to work with old pc's, that are still usuable just old, so we are putting linux on them, most likely redhat enterprise ES. My job is to find the best:
Damn you, I wanted an internship this summer... now I am forced to socialize and call up old friends (or spend time on these message boards).
Lauren wrote: email client (one like outlook, only for linux)
Lauren wrote: I am thinking for the email client either evolution or mozilla's thunderbird, and for the browsing either mozilla's firebird or firefox, and as for backup i have looked into tar, but thats about