Real VNC

Have a question for the lug and you are not a member of the mailing list? Or you just want to start a discussion here, go right ahead.

Moderators: snarkout, Patrick, dann

Post Reply
Lauren
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2004 8:14 am

Real VNC

Post by Lauren » Mon Jul 19, 2004 2:17 pm

Hello...i need some help....again!!

I need to install VNC to my linux image...im going to do that but i need to know what i need to do after i download it! Are there configuration/installation directions i can follow?? Also, i can just put it onto my machine and then find a way to implement it onto other computers too, rite - I dont have to do this on a server?

Help!

Thanks!!

pthread
Posts: 57
Joined: Wed May 05, 2004 12:53 am
Contact:

Post by pthread » Mon Jul 19, 2004 7:45 pm

Did you download a binary package or source?

Once it's installed, just image the computer you wan't to copy, and make that available for (nearly) identical computers to pull down and install from.

User avatar
dann
Site Admin
Posts: 1132
Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2004 10:55 pm
Location: Hampton, Va, USA
Contact:

Post by dann » Mon Jul 19, 2004 8:57 pm

If I am not mistaken, and you downloaded the sources:

tar xvf source.tar.gz

cd vnc_source
./configure
make
su -c make install

done deal.

Lauren
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2004 8:14 am

VNC

Post by Lauren » Tue Jul 20, 2004 9:05 am

Ive downloaded the sources for REALVNC then go to a terminal and type in the ls i get this: vnc-4.0-1.nosrc.rpm so then i tried to download a .tar version and that did nothing when i went to do tar xvf source.tar.gz...it says again no such file or directory!!!

Lauren
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2004 8:14 am

VNC

Post by Lauren » Tue Jul 20, 2004 1:10 pm

Ok so installed using the rpm, heres what i did:

1) i became root
2) i did an ls to find my vnc-4.0-1.i386.rpm
3) then i did an ls vnc-4.0-1.i386.rpm
4) then i did the rpm -ivh vnc-4.0-1.i38.rpm
then the computer said: preparing.....
1:vnc ######### [100%]
######### [100%]

and that is all that happened...is this correct or did it nt work??

If this is correct. what do i do next??

pthread
Posts: 57
Joined: Wed May 05, 2004 12:53 am
Contact:

Post by pthread » Tue Jul 20, 2004 2:18 pm

yep, it worked. Now you read the documentation on how vnc works... :).

I have never used it, so I wouldn't know.

User avatar
dann
Site Admin
Posts: 1132
Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2004 10:55 pm
Location: Hampton, Va, USA
Contact:

Post by dann » Tue Jul 20, 2004 8:34 pm

In a nutshell, you need to have a vncserver running somewhere. You can start one on the machine by:

vncserver :1 -name hello -depth 16 -geometry 800x600

then vncviewer localhost:1

stop the server by vncserver -kill :1


Then do some more customization in the .vnc directory. Create an xstartup file and add some parameters, like a windowmanager) to it.


Read the docs.

Lauren
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2004 8:14 am

VNC

Post by Lauren » Wed Jul 21, 2004 12:21 pm

Ok, so i try to find the vnc directory and there is not one there when i do an ls, all that is there is the vnc-4.0-1.i386.rpm. So, i try to make the directory vnc-4.0-1.i386.rpm myself, but it is saying that it (the vnc-4...)exists but is not a directory....so i cant do anything w/it anymore now!

Any suggestions??

pthread
Posts: 57
Joined: Wed May 05, 2004 12:53 am
Contact:

Post by pthread » Wed Jul 21, 2004 3:18 pm

No your missing it... it's all done, it's installed. An rpm is already compiled, and all it does is put hte files where they need to be. The files are on your system in their default installation place, try doing 'updatedb' as root, then 'locate vnc' and you will find it.

pthread
Posts: 57
Joined: Wed May 05, 2004 12:53 am
Contact:

Post by pthread » Thu Jul 22, 2004 11:59 am

Someone might be able to answer me this though, what is the point with srpms?

Lauren
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2004 8:14 am

real vnc

Post by Lauren » Thu Jul 22, 2004 12:10 pm

Ok, its done and up and working...my boss was very pleased!!

Thank you soo much everyone!!

*Lauren

Twiggy
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Jun 21, 2004 8:27 am
Location: Doylestown, PA
Contact:

Post by Twiggy » Fri Jul 23, 2004 7:23 am

Someone might be able to answer me this though, what is the point with srpms?
I believe it's for RPM zealots who want to build stuff from source using a single command. I used RPM distros for over a year and never had to use a single one.
"Eagles may soar, but weasles don't get sucked into jet engines."

pthread
Posts: 57
Joined: Wed May 05, 2004 12:53 am
Contact:

Post by pthread » Fri Jul 23, 2004 12:32 pm

Yeah, I figured it was something like that :)

Twiggy
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Jun 21, 2004 8:27 am
Location: Doylestown, PA
Contact:

Post by Twiggy » Fri Jul 23, 2004 12:47 pm

I could be wrong though. I think what it *may* be for is you use the rpm --rpmbuild <package> command to build the RPM from source so the RPM is built from scratch for your system. Which is the epitome of zealotism :D Just use Gentoo.
"Eagles may soar, but weasles don't get sucked into jet engines."

pthread
Posts: 57
Joined: Wed May 05, 2004 12:53 am
Contact:

Post by pthread » Fri Jul 23, 2004 4:16 pm

lol, yeah, you'll never find any gentoo users that are zealots... :)

Post Reply